NAIG Council

The NAIG Council is the International Governing Body for the NAIG. It exercises exclusive jurisdiction, either directly or through its affiliate members or committees, over all matters pertaining to the North American Indigenous Games. It ensures the purposes and philosophies are reflected in all aspects of the Games. The Council is the principal authority for policy development, rules and regulations for the Games. In its role, the NAIG Council supervises the overall development and implementation of the Games, including the selection of host communities through a bid process. The NAIG Council enters into a formal Hosting Agreement with the host community, which stipulates the terms under which the Games are awarded.

NAIG Council works in a manner, which is consistent with the cultural, spiritual and traditional values of the people it represents. In their activities they promote and encourage holistic individual development that focuses on the mental, physical, emotional and spiritual growth of participants.

Structure and Composition

North America has been divided into twenty-six regions for the purpose of representation on the NAIG Council. The Council consists 13 representatives from Canada and 13 representatives from the U.S.A. Canada is represented by the recognized Provincial/Territorial Aboriginal sport bodies that have a grassroots mandate to represent the interests of the First Nation, Inuit, and Metis people in their region. The USA has 13 state regions are represented on the Council.

NAIG Council Representatives (Canada)



Region 1 British Columbia
Region 2 Alberta
Region 3 Saskatchewan
Region 4 Manitoba
Region 5 Ontario
Region 6 Eastern Door and the North
(Provincial boundaries of Quebec)
Region 7 New Brunswick
Region 8 Nova Scotia
Region 9 Prince Edward Island
Region 10 Newfoundland & Labrador
Region 11 Yukon
Region 12 Northwest Territories
Region 13 Nunavut
NAIG Council Representatives (USA)



Region 1 Alaska, Hawaii, Washington
Region 2 California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon
Region 3 Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah
Region 4 Montana, North Dakota, Wyoming
Region 5 Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota
Region 6 Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Minnesota
Region 7 Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas
Region 8 Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin
Region 9 Connecticut, New Hampshire, Massachusettes, Maine, Vermont, Rhode Island
Region 10 New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania
Region 11 Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, Washington DC, Georgia
Region 12 Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina
Region 13 Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, Tennessee


Unite Interactive